Governments officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I generally agree that government officials should take their own judgements into account when making critical decisions. However, I think it is equally important to consider people's opinions with an appropriate degree of doubt since people's perspectives may not represent the best interest of the majority. Therefore, a more precise prompt that I will agree is that the government officials should find the balance to couple the professional judgements with peoples' will to meet the best interest of the mass.

To begin with, one important reason that the government officials are elected is that people believe they have the profession and the knowledge in dealing with certain domain of the issues. For example, when Tsai Ying-Wen, Taiwan's current president, has been elected, the major reason is that people believe that she is capable of taking care of the challenge between Taiwan and China. Also, people feel comfortable to count on her judgement in terms of sensitive international affairs. Therefore, under the democratic context, the government officials have the responsibilities to pave the way that fits with the expectations as well as the best interest of the citizens. Just like what Miss Tsai has done and makes her win the presidential election again.

However, the emphasis of the government officials' profession and judgements doesn't undermine the equal importance of listening to people's will. In other words, the problem is not to carry out people's will. Instead, it is to "unquestioningly" realize people's will in order to gain the sequential success of election. For instance, under the global pandemic, it is challenging to make a decision that is welcomed by the citizens. Most of the people would not like to be locked down or wear masks all the time. However, even knowing that the decision of quarantine will against people's will, it is still important to impose this policy to stop the spread of the virus. If the government officials carry out people's will undoubtedly and did not strictly conduct the social distance policy, then the result will be numerous death, just like what we have seen in certain countries.

In conclusion, society is evolving all the time, so the better way to achieve political decisions that can benefit the majority is to consider officials' own judgement as well as people's will to try their best to find out the solutions that are formed by the wisdom of whole society.