Governments officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In a society which is led by a government, one naturally cares about how the policies are enacted and what are the implications for these policies. This is because each of us interests are strongly tied up with the public policies, from the education we receive to the pension we hold. Under such a background, the prompt suggests that the statesman in governments should judge independently on their own wills instead of being swayed by the mass's various voices incautiously. I tend to agree with the prompt for the following three reasons.

Firstly, ordinary people tend to make impulsive comments on certain issues based on their personal interests and emotional feelings, which weakens the significance of their words on public issues. Taking Greek Financial Crisis as an example, the nonstop pursuit of a better welfare system of the mass majority hampered the nation's productiveness and resulted in great deficit in government budget. In this case, for a better future of the country, people's voice should not be given so much emphasis in a way that sacrificed the whole economy and people's happiness in the long term. Therefore, it is not reliable to promise whatever the public asks for.

Secondly, government officials should be trusted for their expertise in making advisable decisions. Generally, noting that the public figures are trained and selected in a quite tact system, we can deduct that the average intelligence level of a government official should be higher than the average intelligence level of the public, especially in terms of making policies for the benefit of the whole country. As for individual cases, it is not very likely for an impulsive, selfish, and corrupted political figure to stay in power for a long period without anyone questioning his or her abilities. Therefore, we should give more faith in the political figures to make better decisions with their expertise.

Lastly, people's voice should be examined and carefully evaluated before taken into consideration. It is understandable that minorities need to voice out in order to promote the equality for the whole society and to prevent anyone from abusing the power. However, it is possible that these voices are not rational. For instance, some groups of Hong Kong protesters committed voilent crimes that are not representable for the interests of the society. In this case, certain groups of people's extreme activities should not affect the majority of the people

In conclusion, making decisions representing the whole country is not an easy task, but rather a serious issue in which government officials should be held accountable. People's voices should be taken seriously after certain evaluation to ensure their worthiness.