Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prudent nature governmental bodies is a characteristic that citizens wholly understand as a necessary attribute to survive as a nation. Without such, the infrastructure that underlies any given country is subject to be delapidated over time, dwindling into a decrepit state of economic and social turmoil. However, the temporal interval that governments are to focus on is a variable decision that truly depends on one’s perception of the role of government. In my eyes I see the government as a force set apart to forecast and extrapolate future issues to synergize the development of a nation, while still giving partial credence to the current affairs. That being the case, I agree with the prompt for two main reasons.

My first reason I support the issue is due to the evanascent nature of the present and how actions within it don’t come to fruition until the future. Consider a nation that is decadent in financial affairs, and now truly ponder how that country got to that desolate place. One realizes that the present is actually never really a reflection of the current, but of the past. Let’s take America in the early 2008, fresh off of the market crash that paralyzed cash flow throughout various sectors, and created all time nadirs in real estate. When you truy think about how America got to that place it was actually a culmination of past events that created the stock market crisis. Amongst a host of other things, the main causal factor reported is the financing of homes on bad loans, attributed to the rapacious nature of loan officers during that period. I raise this point to highlight this: had the govenrment been more involved in that process in the past, say 2005, by implementing regulations and surveillance, this crisis could potentially have been prevented. That being so, this supports my reasoning that the government should focus on the future rather than the present because in essence the present is just illusory. Present actions, or lack thereof, don’t actually come to light until the futures, which is why goventments should attempt to be as incisive as possible in prescient matters.

Given the latent nature of the action that governments may take to attend to the problems of today, the second reason I believe that the governments should focus on the anticipated problems of the future is my belief in the role of government. As much as I do cherish the comfort that laws and policy give me, I do not see the main goal of the government to cater to my exact needs at all times. Ultimately, the role of government is to attempt to perpetuate the financial, social, and militant presence of a given country, and that cannot be done without having a mind fixated on the future. For example, the space race that came concomitant with the Cold War between the United States and Russia. As tempers flared in all directions (and those tempers mainly manifesting as militant engagements), certain sectors of the government had a totally different mindset that was set on the future. The United State’s NASA was parochial in trying to put a man on the moon, and the result of this feat elevated America to the acme of space exploration and nebular discovery. But the effects don’t stop there, multifactorial economical boom followed as a direct result of the anticipation of the American Governement. Not only did they display alacrity in sending a man to the moon, but even further, they showed how the balance of future needs and current issues marry to make a balanced vision.

While one might say my analysis is partial and doesn’t consider how the present actually affects the lives of the current citizens, I would say that the government is serving the citizens well by focusing on the future. And for the reasons of the latency of govermental action and the role that government should play in the viability of a nation, I believe the government should focus on the anticipated problems of the future.