In most countries, a great share of government funds goes into military as the military not only protects the citizens from threats outside the country but also upholds peace within the country. Though arts is an important aspect of the culture of a nation, it does not need as much funding as that which is taken by the military.

For a nation to function properly, its citizens need to feel safe; they should not fear of their lives being in danger as they continue with their daily tasks. In fact, who would want to work when they know there might be a missile targeted at them? There would be complete chaos. The military obviates this situation by making all its citizens feel safe. Each citizen can sleep soundly knowing that they are protected by the military. Therefore, it is utmost importance to have an effective and functional military. In order to achieve this, a great amount of funding needs to go to the military.

The military not only protects us from outside threats, but threats within the country as well. For instance, natural disasters like floods or earthquakes occur in almost every country; the military not carries out rescue operations but also provide support for the citizens. This significantly reduces the damage caused by the natural disasters. However, if the military was not well funded, then they would have not had the equipment required to carry out these functions effectively; if the military was sent to aid the citizens in this state, it would only exacerbated the situation.

Though art and culture are important for a country, protection of the citizens is more important. Therefore, art shouldn't get more funding if it means that the military loses funding required for effective operation of the body. If there is a surplus of funding however, then is is feasible to provide this funding to art installations.