Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Arts and military are as disparate as chalk and cheese. There is nothing alike in the two spheres and yet they are monitored by a common body which is the government. However, the investments made in both these domains are markedly different due to their incongruous nature. The given recommendation suggests that the funding for both arts and military should be equivalent. Hence, there is the need for an exegesis to expound further on the recommendation.

The role of arts leans towards entertainment or culture. It is not something extremely vital for existence of a society however, it is not something that can be entirely neglected. On the other hand, military has a desideratum position in the various domains governed by the government. It is definitely paramount for day-to-day functioning and minor lapses or peccadilloes can be tantamount to major scuffles on a global level.

Hence, aligning with the aforementioned reasoning, it is inequitable to place both of them at the same level and invest in them same sums of money. Since, military covers greater range including air-force, navy, border security, national police, etc; a greater sum needs to be allotted here. It needs to stay abreast with the advancing technologies to enhance the security of a country and at the same time ensure a halcyon functioning of the society.

Arts on the other hand does not require as drastic investment as military. A million dollars invested in strengthening the forces will be highly efficacious and salubrious than an awe-inspiring cultural facade or museum that would serve less purpose for the society. A monument, or artificial attraction created by highly-skilled artists would have impact but with a limited scope. As a contrast, better fighter planes, ammunition, coastal weapons and submarines and a stricter mechanism of keeping an eye on the country's borders would not only protect its citizens but also prevent losses that accompany conflicts and wars.

Nevertheless, this does not imply that arts should be undermined and cultural progress should be stymied. Undoubtedly, arts also serves a higher purpose which is as a tourist attraction, increasing revenues in the form of taxes and aesthetically beautifying a surrounding. It adds money in the national coffers and provides the country a global recognition. It is what makes the nation shine in the spectrum of the world.

Also, it is worth noting that a greater sum invested in military would not be equivalent to a stronger and robust nation free from any woes. It is not about the quantity of money involved as it is about the quality of investment. Therefore, investments must be made after a thorough, compelling research on past expenditures and after understanding the requirements of the current society. National wealth is an important resource, and its spending must be done wisely and in an extremely calculated way without compromising on any of the essential tasks of the government.