Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students

Knowledge is power, and becoming educated is worth much more than the cost of the tuition. The prompt urges that college and university education should be offered for free by the government. I strongly disagree with this claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my position.

To begin with, the higher education system cannot afford to offer its services to the entire country free of charge. How will teachers get paid and how will the school be able to afford building anything new? Take for instance the many teachers at University of Berkeley that live on campus because they cannot afford a place to live while working on campus. Making it free for everyone would mean that these teachers would be getting paid less than they already are unless the money comes from somewhere else. The only other way we could fund these schools and those that teach there is by taking more out of everyone's taxes. A study from Stanford revealed that taxes would more than double if this recommendation takes place and teacher salary remains the same. This is important because not only can the system not afford to lose its profit from the service it provides, the general population cannot afford to pay the increased taxes that would result from this.

To expand on the point, not only would the schools not be able to afford paying their teachers, it would be nearly impossible to build new buildings for things like sports recreational centers, libraries, classrooms, and cafeterias to name a few examples. Not only would the quality of the education go down, the sports teams would suffer, and the class sizes would be gargantuan. A study from Yale looked at countries with public college education and compared the quality of their buildings to private schools in the United States and found that the amenities at these public schools were outdated by decades and falling apart. Having funding for rebuilding the school when necessary is important and why tuition should never be without cost.

On the other hand, in contrast to my stance on the topic, this recommendation would open the doors for the entire country to become educated. No longer would finances be the reason why anyone ends up not going to college. However, the government would have to fund this plan somehow and if the money isn't taken out of our taxes to pay for it, those seeking an education will end up with the repercussions. Thus, in order to preserve quality education for all, tuition must remain intact so that we can pay our teachers appropriately and afford to upgrade our facilities.

Nevertheless, although it is true that more people would have the opportunity to receive a diploma than ever before, for the reasons that I have described above it would not be wise to force governments to offer free college education to all students.