Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is one of the basic rights of human and a fundamental need for day to day life. But what is the level of education a person want to have is dependent on a number of factors: personal desire, financial capabilities, goal in life, etc. In this statement it is posited that the goverments should make the university cost free to a student who cannot afford the fees. To have a strong workforce with quality knowledge, a goverment should make the university education free if possible.

The university education is cosidered the acme of all education. The more number of graduates that a country can get, the more skilled is the work force in that country. But the university education is costly at the same time, which makes in unaffordable for a lot of people. If this barrier can be removed, more people will become interested to continue their study upto university. For example, If we look at Germany, Sweden, and many other European countries, they have made the education system free of cost. The students do not need to pay any fees for the university education. This makes the universities more accessible to those who are not financially blessed. This has an positive impact on those country as they are utilising that skilled work force in development of their country as well as exporting them to other countries and earning from that too.

Furthermore, if a goverment can make the university education free, it removes a burden from the student who might not hold a job at the time and be dependent on the income of their parents or other sponsors. The financial state of a student should not be a criteria to complete a degree from an university. For example , we have seen the student loan is on the rise in United States. For some of them, they have to bear this burden of this loan long after they have graduated from the university. This makes the prospect of higher studies unattractive to a lot of people. Also, we have seen many students moves to different country to pursue higher degree because their lower cost. Like students from several Asian countries come to Bangladesh every year for their affordable high quality university education.

Although it makes sense to make the university education more accessible to everyone, one might argue that the university education is an investment by the person for his personal gain. Even if that is the case, he is an addition to the workforce of that country. The higher skilled person with better knowledge can contribute in a more meaningful way to a sector than others.

Thus, with the goal to have a better society, goverments should make the education free to the students who have the desire to pursue the higher studies in universties but not financially capable of doing so. It is more like an investment on the part of the goverment which will add a better learned person to the society.