Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I would, partially agree with the recommendation to place restrictions on scientific research and development by the government.

There may be possibility that scientific research and development could be not be in favor of welfare of people or we can say that it can cause loss to integrity of mankind. Consider the example of cloning in which research is been carried out. If in this research a clone of a dead person is created by using DNA then it may place several expectations in people minds when they came to know it is possible.They may demand government to permit them to create clone of their passed relatives. To ensure such things do not happen government should restrict scientific research like Indian government. In India it is crime to create clone in any form not even one can clone their hair for hair transplants.

Scientific research centers should inform government regarding research been carried out. It is very important that research should carried out under certain rules and regulations otherwise it may prove hazardous to our society. For instance, if research in going on some dangerous microorganisms, it may be possible that research center would sell this bio-weapon to other country or people who possess cruel intentions. It can be also possible that information regarding creations of nuclear bomb be snatched from them. Thus for such things government should restrict them regarding information security.

Sometimes it may prove that strict restriction on scientific research could not be profitable. Many government have banned selling of research to other nations but it is not profitable in all ways. For example if government sells blue prints of making Jet Fighter plane to other nation then it may create income to carry out research and development for more advance Fighter Jet.

In conclusion, by seeing examples like of cloning, bio-weapons and Fighter Jet we can say that recommendation to restrict scientific research and development by government could be profitable but for some it is not.