GRE Issue Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you tak

Government funded undergraduate and postgraduate studies are an interesting and considerable idea. Education is a boon for the society provides us with growth and progress. Additionally, most of our concerns of financial security, social status, and crime rate are implicitly solved by education. Unambiguously, providing free education at colleges and universities is definitely a great idea. There are a large no. of advantages of providing free education after high school we to name a few providing fair and equal opportunities to everyone, developing a more technical workforce aimed at more sophisticated jobs and better development and economic boost to society.

Undoubtedly, financially subsidized education after high school provides better prospects for potential contributors of society that might otherwise have been neglected because of their lack of financial support. Furthermore, it acts as a great equalizer and provides the same possibilities for everyone aiming to complete college and pursue higher education. Denmark, as a country provides free education to all of it's citizens pursuing bachelors, masters or doctorates at colleges or universities. Not only, Denmark enjoys a higher development index but also has the highest no. of patents filed every year in all major domains all thanks to their supportive policies in education which otherwise may have been lost.

It cannot be ignored that education is a hallmark of development in all developed countries and a technically skilled population of a nation further cements it's position in the world stage. Additionally, it a highly educated population is also correlated with a more socially responsible people, relatively lower crime rates as compared to other nation states and a better conflict resolution between different interest groups. Japan is one of the most highly educated nations with highest percentage of people that complete college and universities and hence enjoys least crime rates, higher human development index and a more accountable public.

Consequently, we are surrounded by fears of economic burden on the nation from guaranteeing free education to all citizens at college and universities. Nevertheless, these fears can be easily confronted with the results summarized from various studies, education provides the highest in general return on investment at about 40% within one generation in any country. Singapore, is a nation that took education as it's core policy and developed within a short span of just 3 generations by investing in human capital rather than other conventional sector's. Thus, it is completely justified to invest in education for development.

Finally, we can deduce that the cliché is justified and acceptable and should be implemented in practice. Moreover, the shortcomings of implementing the idea are offset by the benefits it provides as a whole to the society with high levels of growth, more skilled population, higher social development and meteoric economic productivity.