The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Can greatness of the individual could ever be measured? It can be. It is only possible by those who live after them as sometimes the validity of the work done cannot be proven at that time. Sometimes, there is a lack of awareness and information for the people belonging to the same time.

There are numerous examples relating to this in the field of early innovations. One of the examples is Quantum Physics. At the time, he proposed the theory no one believed because there were no advance tools or methods to prove this hypothesis. After decades, when the science prospered, and more advanced tools were available than that era, the theory of Quantum physics proved to be correct. The scientist who proposed the theory received Nobel prize for his discovery after his death.

Other than field of science and innovations, this can also be seen when British was ruling in India. During that time, Britishers brought many innovations from foreign to India which might be not possible in that history of time. They build railway systems with the purpose to ease their means of transportation. But after the freedom from Britishers, it was helpful for Indians. At the time of building trains, people were not able to see this new change as a positive outcome. It proved to be beneficiary long after the freedom of India.

The individuals belonging to the same time period who find the new things or innovations to be absurd at that time can have great impact in the future. Thus, it can be valued only by the people who live after them.