The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Greatness is a term that has been envied by many of the world’s historical figures. Though, the way of pursuing greatness was not always been convincing. The prompt declares that greatness is determined by the people living afterward, not the current people with whom the greats live in. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this context. To support my stance I would like to present two reasons.

If we analyze history, it’d be found that greatness is a long-cherished term for many of the rulers of the past. It is not necessarily true that all of them had achieved this feat only after they died. Many had lived over their triumph and enjoyed the fruit of being recognized and appreciated by people around them, and all over the world. For instance, “Alexander-The Great” was a great warlord whose name burgeoned throughout the world when he was ruling. The fear and prejudice among other kings and rulers while hearing the name of this person was immense. He was well-known to everyone. If we put aside the wars and woes caused by a ruler, people who used to serve frugal purposes did get acquainted in their lifetime quite often. Artists like “Leonardo Da Vinci”, “Pablo Picasso” or “Van Gough” were known by their contemporary critics and the masses.

Furthermore, the upliftment of communication technologies and strategies has ensured that whoever is serving generous or extremely bad purposes, gets recognized by the citizens of all over the world. Nowadays, one does not have to die to make their deeds or works flourish among the humdrum. To mention that, each of the latest democratic icons of recent centuries have got sufficient exposure while they were ruling or being engaged in cosmopolitan issues. Some of them are even considered as the torch-bearer of modern world construed of peace and humanity. Their presence and influence is thoroughly valued, and they are often asked to resolve problems occurring worldwide just for the importance of their name and the power of their interference.

To conclude, I would not abandon the fact that every great of this earth did not get praise or recognition while they were alive, the list can be huge enough, but considering the circumstance that the world has evolved so much and passing information among countries become so trivial that a person being influential or detrimental for the masses and yet getting unnoticed is highly unlikely. At least that’s how I view this entire context.