"The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their

contemporaries."

The speaker contends that the individual's greatness is discerned by the those who live after that person and not by those who lived in that particular era. I concede that his contention finds considerable support from areas, particularly those of physical sciences, where any finding is put to rigorous scrutiny before declaring it ubiquitous.

However the claim is an unfair generalization and fails to substantiate enough support empirically especially in the field of art. Thus, i generally disagree with the speaker.

Lending credence to my explanation, first of all, i would like to point out that artistic greatness can be judged at the face value. History is well stocked up with exemplary evidences. Michelangelo's artistic greatness was recognized by Pope at the very nascent stage. Monarchs of Europe were very happy with Mozart's art and gave him their most generous commissions.

Mark twain became the best-selling author and household name even during his lifetime. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that for crediting the artisan’s artistic acumen, one doesn't need to wait for getting it approved. In all these examples, the work was embraced by the contemporaries.

Admittedly, greatest achievement of an individual sometimes, especially in the field of physical sciences, needs to be put to careful scrutiny before it can be made universal. In addition a theory may or may not fulfill the requirements to serve as a springboard for later technological advances. To illustrate this, let’s take the example of this new theory called 'Spring theory'. Scientists claim that it reconciles the two opposing theories namely: quantum theory and wave theory. However for the new theory's claim to be successful and widely adopted, it needs to be tested over time.

In sum, the speaker overlooks the greatness of some important artistic individuals, who were recognized during their time.

Nevertheless, the speakers claim cannot be disregarded fully as scientific findings cannot be certified by the contemporaries and need fair bit of judgment by those who follow them.