The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Greatness of an individual is fully understood by people who live after them. For example, the greatness of Sir M vishveshwarayya was understood only after the KRS dam was built which boosted the economy of the erstwhile mysore state and people of this region continue to reap its benefits even today.

People always look up to the greatness of individuals who lived in the past and aspire to become them. For instance, many students in india aspire to become scientists by looking up to the greatness of scientists such as APJ abdul kalam, CV Raman and other distinguished Indian scientists. Similarly, crime fiction writers look up to the greatness of Agatha christie and Arthur conan doyle for inspiration.

The statement says that greatness of individuals cannot be decided by contemporaries. To add, individuals in a certain period achieve greatness in various fields. It would be incomaprable to decide the greatness of an individual. To illustrate, Lata mangeshkar, one of India's greatest singers cannot be compared with Sachin Tendulkar, one of the greatest cricketers even though both individuals exist today.

However, it is also flawed to say that greatness of individals cannot be decided by their contemporaries. Many great individuals were venerated by their contemporaries. For example, Mahatma Gandhi was recognized by many other great individuals of the time such as Einstein, Winston churchill and even the Nobel foundation who decided to not award the Nobel peace prize in 1948 to anyone as a tribute to Mahatma Gandhi after his death.

Greatness of an individual is not clouded or shadowed by time but instead inspires people young and old alike.