Having children is less important than it was in the past

The importance of having children has been a contentious issues especially in the contemporary world. Some people believe having children is less important to them due to personal reasons where as others do not.

I mostly disagree with this stance for the following two reasons, although I do concede that if the goal of a child being less important is to bring happiness, then having children can be less non trivial.

First of all, Having Children is one of the most important investment one can ever make because when one gets old, Children takes care of the person. Most times when one gives birth, train the child, invest a lot in the child's education, upbringing, it turns out to be yielding when the child grows up, as the child tends to reciprocate all the love, efforts shown to him. For example, A person who gave birth to a child well brought up seem to have assurance that in the future, the child will take care of him/her in her old age, unlike someone who has none.

Furthermore, Having children has been a form of support, a source of happiness to the parent. So many parents derive happiness when they someone who is always around them, to run errands for them, do some chores and have conversation with.

These two reasons have been the major importance o children for a very long time, However, In the contemporary society , we have a large number of people who don't see reasons good reason to have Children due to different actors for example, they could be attracted to the same sex and have prejudice or the other sex. This will make them see having Children or anything that has to do with opposite sex as trivial.

In conclusion, I mostly disagree with the stance of the Author.