High schools should eliminate their art and music programs to make room for more extensive

studies in mathematics and English. Test scores in mathematics and English are of paramount

interest to the colleges most students wish to attend, while art and music classes are mere

electives of little use to students who do not intend to pursue careers in such creative fields.

Write a response that expresses the degree to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason

or reasons that underlie the claim

At a first glance, the idea of prioritizing mathematics and English studies at high schools makes some sense. Most standardized tests demand only those. However, a more in-depth analysis can show some good reasons to keep those classes.

First of all, some of the most renowned colleges take into account the electives and activities that a student did, beside the basics. A good grade on standardized tests is necessary, but to lots of universities, not enough for one to be accepted. So even just in the optics of getting students into top notch universities, there are still reasons to keep those electives.

Besides that, some studies show, that arts and music are very good to develop creativity, which is very positive in the formation of a student. Not only that, but they can also have an important effect in opening people's minds. Nowadays, more than ever, it is vital for people to live in society to have an open mind. In my view, a high school aim is not only to prepare the students to be accepted in an university, but also to form good citizens.

So for all the reasons stated above, I strongly disagree with the claim that high schools should eliminate their art and music programs.