High Schools should eliminate their art and music programs to make room for more extensive studies in Mathematics and English. Tests scores in Mathematics and English are of paramount interest to the colleges most students wish to attend, while art and music classes are mere electives of little use to students who do not intend to pursue careers in such creative fields.

Write a response that expresses the degree to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason or reasons that underlie the claim.

Although subjects like Mathematics and English are of high importance to colleges, eliminating other less extensive subjects like Art and Music would prove to be a huge loss to the overall development of a student.

First, high schools are like experimental labs for students who haven’t yet discovered what field they want to go ahead with. Just because colleges require good scores in Mathematics and English does not necessarily signify that every student would like to pursue a future with those subjects. High schools are a place where a student discovers his/her talents and then act on them. If a student is interested in painting and attends said high school where such programs are given no importance, he/she may never be able to discover her talent in that field. Which in turn would be a huge loss to the student as well as the society by depriving it of such accomplishments. Picasso and Beethoven would have never been able to pursue their interests had they been made to study English and Mathematics instead and we would have deprived the world of such talents.

Second, students who do want to pursue a career in English or Mathematics may feel like they are wasting unnecessary time in art and music classes. But the catch here is even the brightest of students need some recreational time. Discovering creative fields like art and music may be refreshing to such students and give them a distraction from extensive studying. They might even gain familiarity in said fields thus increasing broadening their scope of knowledge. This contributes to overall development of a student.

Lastly, colleges are a place where students specialize in the topics/areas they want to gain expertise and pursue a career in. Colleges narrows down the unnecessary subjects that aren’t necessarily required by a student to follow their interests. If high schools start doing the same, there would be very little difference in high schools and colleges. There needs to be a distinction between both for congruence in society.

In conclusion, high schools should focus on overall development of child and not just follow whichever paths colleges walk on. Every subject is equally important and depriving students of them would be a huge loss to the student as well as the society.