I agree with the notion that students' curriculum should be uniform across the board as far as possible. Whatever is taught to students before they enter college forms their foundation and determines how they think and tackle issues later on in life. Some might argue that contrary to college education, high school syllabus is elementary and inconsequential. In my opinion this approach is false and undermines the role that primary education plays in moulding young minds.

If the curriculum were diverse, the youth would tend to get grouped up based on the difficulty levels of the various curricula. This, combined with students' personal motivations and interests, could adversely skew their goals and ambitions. Maintaining the difficulty level of multiple curricula across the country would be an onerous task, not to mention designing of tests of uniform diffculty that can be administered to students from different academic backgrounds. College admission committees could very easily become biased toward a students from a certain curriculum if those students prove to be better performers in college and beyond.

Having the same national curriculum ensures that the knowledge dispensed to children is uniform. It sets the tone for a students lives as it empowers them to figure out what it is that they want to study in college, and subsequently, what they want to build a career in. From a nations development point-of-view, it is not hard to imagine that job markets in industry, politics, and even academia would have a hard time seeking talented graduates, as one section of the population might become more or desirable than another based on the kind of knowledge that was imparted to them in school.

Thus, I believe that in order to avoid a butterfly effect that could upturn a nations future for the worse, it is crucial to have a uniform curriculum throughout.