If rituals did not exist, we would have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to define ourselves socially and culturally.

There is a tradition in India to not name a baby until he is a few weeks old; that is when a humble naming ceremony is held, and the family together agrees on a name, guided by 'pundit' who tell them which phonetic should the name should start with to be the most auspicious. Rituals like these have found their way into every society on Earth without exception, and the question of whether we can live without them is a great exercise upon the mind. (?)

Most cultures set aside a day of the week for worship. This is why Christians dress their best on Sundays, why Friday markets are all the rage in the Middle East, and why anything non-vegetarian is hard to come by in Indian restaurants on a Thursday. This is how traditions come to be -- often by sheer necessity. Rituals are more functional than they seem at first glance. Certain things, like a yearly deep cleaning of the house or a day of worship for a religious person, need doing. But, very often, that isn't enough of a push to get them done, and a routine and some social impetus are needed. Rituals like an annual Spring cleaning or a set day of worship provide just that. They instill habits into society at large, which is no small feat, by getting people do something at a fixed time, every year or every week. Habits are an effective way to get work done because they are easy to follow, even for the weak-willed, and they form the crux of the idea of rituals.

As we delve deeper into the idea that many rituals are just habits, we realise that they are unavoidable due to the way we are wired. Rituals, especially the smaller ones, often make us happy as we react to a particular situation with a fixed response that gratifies the pleasure-centers of our brains. Here, we may take the example of two friends who meet for tea and biscuits on the evening of every rainy day, and make a little ritual of this pleasurable pastime. This tendency is not unique to humans -- dogs are known for the ritualistic leaping hugs that await their owners when they come home from a long day of work. Not one of us could imagine a life without these sweet little habits that make our lives worth living.

Expanding on the example of the two friends bonding over tea, we can see that these habits hold a lot of emotional significance. The tea parties that are sprinkled throughout the season solidify the special social positions both the friends hold in each other's lives. These habits mark the difference between coworkers and friends, between friends and close friends, and between close friends and siblings, and so on. When you and an acquaintance find yourself involved so deeply in each other's lives that you become a ritual habit, do you not realise that you two are no longer casual acquaintances? We bond with people over every one of the ceremonies that some think are an outmoded relic of the past, like families coming together to name a newborn Indian child, or sharing a cake with friends on a birthday, or people exchanging gifts on Christmas.

Then, it becomes obvious that the birth of rituals is a large-scale phenomenon deep-rooted in our human physiology that can not be erased, nor should it be. Rituals are cultural habits with emotional significance: they are functional and indispensable and serve as expressions of interpersonal relationships, and thus do, in fact, define us socially and culturally.