If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more

experience.

Today's job market has cut throat competition. From a very tender age children are prepared on the mindset that one day they will have to grow up and excel in life, which in most of the cases is land your dream job accompanied with a fat cheque. This kind of a race has led a high influx of qualified applicants for a limited number of such 'dream jobs'. This struggle triggers, what Charles Darwin has coined "survival of the fittest" among the applicant, where the interviewer or the selection board of a particular company decides on who is the 'fittest'. If all the aspects of two particular potential candidates are similar, I think the job offer should be given to the person with more experience.

Academic records and achievements are impressive. But one thing that matters a lot in the job market is experience. And rightly so. This is because, its real time first hand experience in the field of work is what makes a person truly prepared for what is to expect from a real world scenario and how to deal with it. If an applicant has more experience in the field of work he/she is going to do in the new company, then going through that experience interviewers can get a clearer idea of how the person is adapted to work in that domain or technology.

Another advantage of more experience is the diversity of real world problems you face and the possible solution that gets added to your repertoire. I am a software developer and I know that real world projects are no where near what people learn. There are problems lurking every where and one can never see them coming untill it has already befallen upon you. From server crashing, to change in the client requirement there are a motley of problems that blooms all over the place and one has to know how to tackle them. There is no end to this, problems can be of any kind arising from any source. The more you see the more you learn. There is no substitute, experience is the only way.

But again there are somethings that needs to be kept in mind before placing a candidate with a greater experience over a greener one. One drawback of experience is that with experience you sort of get the idea of most of the things and you follow the trails created. Out of the box thinking or walking on an offbeat path seldom happens. You see a problem;you have faced it earlier; you know the solution;you solve it. No extraneous effort. But instead a person with less experience will find the problem as a new challenge and may find a novel solution that may be better than the existing ones. Which is why many corporate sometimes prefer fresh candidates rather than veterans. Lastly its not just the experience in months or years that matters. What should actually matter is the type of experience one had during their work in the previous job. How much was he/she involved? How relevant is that experience to the current job he/she is applying? These kind of questions needs to be answered before one can a priority to a candidate with more experience.

Experience do carry a few brownie points and yes it helps judge a person at work in the real time. But on the other hand there are benefits of being a novice or a person with lesser experience. In the end it depends on the organisation on what they what within their recruit.