If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more

experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should

consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous

and explain how these examples shape your position.

If two people have the same qualification the job should go to the person with more experience because there are certain skills that can only be acquired with practical experience. Think of an engineer or a doctor, the more experienced the person is in this profession the more skilled he becomes and more knowledge he acquires. One could argue that a person with lesser experience will be eager to learn more and thus make the extra effort, but in his eagerness, he would be prone to making mistakes and thus he can become counterproductive.

Let’s assume you have an accident and get a fractured leg would you prefer to go to a freshly graduated doctor who has yet to learn to perform his surgery or an experienced one, who is well versed in the field? Of course, you will choose the one with experience. But why? Both are equally qualified and on paper both possess an equal amount of knowledge, so why would you risk it by going to the doctor with lesser experience, because, you know that certain knowledge can only come from experience and practice. This is not to say that the doctor with lesser experience is particularly bad, but just outlining the fact that in certain professions experience matters a lot and in the case illustrated above it could be the matter of life and death. That is the reason why doctors are required to do house job for one year before they can graduate to gain practical knowledge and experience.

Similar case could be made for other professions like engineering, computer programming, banking etc. In all these professions having experience plays a vital role, as one has to deal with project management and public dealing, because no matter much you bookish knowledge you acquire the real learning can only be achieved through practical experience. Only an experienced individual can foresee an issue arising and take preemptive measures to prevent it from halting the flow of the project. This extremely necessary trait is often missing in people with less or no experience, no matter how qualified or good they are at their job.

Nonetheless, there are certain drawbacks to hiring experienced candidate as opposed to freshly graduated individuals. One could be that, experienced people can tend to become self-satisfied and stop being abreast with the advancement in knowledge and technology. Whereas a person who is fresh out of a university will have all the knowledge of advancement in his field, thus making him more equipped to deal with the current situation.

In essence, I agree with the statement completely, that a person with more experience should get the job if all other qualifications are equal. However, there are certain circumstances where hiring an experienced individual can pose a problem, but these occurrences are few and thus overall an experienced professional is a better fit or any organization.