Imagination is more important than knowledge in the professional and the academic world.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

The issue states that in the field of profession and academy, imagination is more vital than knowledge. Because of the controversary of this topic, I don't think there is general argument on this issue. I am, however, to a great extent, against the statement for the following reasons.

For one thing, useful and practical imagination comes from knowledge, and imgaination that comes from nowhere can only count as daydream, especially in the world of profession and academic. For example, most of the theories purposed by anthropologists are the reconstructions in their minds of how ancient people lived their life in an environment that we could not tell today. However, imagination or reconstructions like these are based on their knowledge about the remains and fossils, without which they could not prove their imagination reasonable. For this example, we can notice that knowledge dose play an important role when we try to construct valuable and useful imagination.

For another, knowledge is the foundation of the realization of imagination. Image that if everyone in the world is good at imagining but no one has the knowledge to make them come true, what our live would be today. There is no doubt that Steve Jobs had one of the most creative imagination in the world. He changed the world by designing the most advanced intelligent cellphone in the world that no one could imagine before. However, the production of these cellphones relies heavily on knowledge ranging from electronic engineering, material to algorithm. If there was not knowledge, Iphone could noly be a good design instead of a good product.

However, what I argue above dose not draw the whole picture. Good imagination often brings us big surprise and can be a powerful driving force behind the development of the society. For example, painters during Rennaisance used their brilliant and unprecedented imagination to reveal the truth of nature and guide people to reflect on their own instead of God. In cases like this, imagination could make a great difference since it breaks the constrains of religion or authority.

For the reasons above, I thinks knowledge plays a role as foundation in the process of construction and realization of imagination, which should not be ignored, especially in the field of profession and academy.