The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today, the world is witnessing the large leaps of science in the field of physics, which helped people to know how this world was created many million years ago. The science has also led to people to see the images of famous places, famous people and also led to communicate with each other while seating at one place. All this is possible because of the rapid pace of life which brought in many desirable changes. While there are no reservation that alacrity in life has helped to resolve unprecedented problems such as discovery of indicators of earthquakes or other natural disasters that have prevented many lives, yet there are reasons to believe that buoyancy in life has caused many problems as well. As pointed by the March 2019 edition of “The Economist”, the world is moving towards materialism that has instilled greed in every human being which is considered as one of the sins in the book of Bible and has caused widespread hatred and intolerance.

Further, one reason that supports the idea of problems that have been caused by today’s life is congestion on roads in every major cities of the world. The traffic on roads is severely impacting the mundane life that it is driving the people towards lack of physical activity. People are unwilling but helpless to go to their work places with a nervousness and anxiety in mind about being stuck in perennial traffic congestion. The research conducted by Intelligence Traffic Management Society in 2016 in India studied 16 major cities of India to analyse the factor that was driving people to unrestrained behaviour on roads. The study concluded that the worry of getting late because of traffic congestion had caused people to resorted to reckless behaviour and commit traffic violation which in some cases had also led large number of deaths due to road accidents. Therefore, rapid pace has forced people to vie for his/her place in this competitive world but at the costs of moral or illegal hazards.

Moreover, another point that argues in favour of problems caused by large number of activities in lives today is the problem of pollution. As the world moved from ancient civilisation to machines and manufacturing units, it caused the rivers polluted and also led to massive deforestation. The desire to beat the competition and earn more had caused encroaching upon the forests that were cleared for factories. To further meet this rapid pace, countries across the world have even resorted to develop nuclear weapons in order to threat others and prove their supremacy. A good example of this is a study that was conducted in India in 2015 by Business World, which studied changes in behaviour of people in the last 8 decades and its impact on natural resources. The study concluded that the greed for business and money had caused fourteen rivers, out of nineteen that were studied, to change their tributaries because of man-made passages for transporting goods. It concluded that these tributaries had caused flooding in some places while scarcity of water in some places. Hence, rapid pace in businesses causes devastation of natural resources and also causes pollution.

However, one argument that buttresses the idea of rapid pace which solved problems, which until now were unresolved, is mobility of people. Due to the advancement in technology that was caused by this rapid pace, now people are able to travel from one corner of the world to another within 24 hours with the help of airplanes. Further, this rapid pace has also transformed the way goods used to move from one place to another in earlier time. Today, with the help of speedboats and of massive size sea vessels, companies are able to transport millions on metric tons of goods within 20 days from one end to another end of the world and brought closer many people in this network of goods. Thus, rapid pace changed the way companies used to conduct businesses which was costly and time consuming earlier but now is fast, cost effective and helping everyone to be a part of this large network.

As can be seen from above, although fast pace of life brought prosperity in businesses and also brought economic satisfaction among citizens but in the way to achieve this, it has also caused natural destruction which causes many lives every year. Moreover, this pace of life also caused people to feel anxiety about their future since greed, hatred and sloth are taking the place of moral ethics. Therefore, everyone in the society must be concerned and should act to balance the benefits and harms associated with this pace of life.