Issue Essay:-People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

A person who makes decisions based on emotions and justifies them later is generally considered to be a poorer decision maker when compared to someone who gives a logical thought to them. A good decision maker is one who makes decisions logically but at the same time, gives an emotional thought to them.

One of the issues with emotional decision makers is that their decisions might seem good to them at that point of time, but those decisions can have long term problems. These problems arise as they weren't thought of by the decision maker. One such example is when a person is hungry, they do not give much thought to what they eat and how much do they eat. However if a person makes food decisions logically based on their energy requirements, it is good for them in the long run for having a good health.

Moreover, the result of many decisions affect not only the decision maker but also affect the people for whom the decision is being taken. For example, many parents do not correct the mistakes made by their children as they feel wrong in reprimanding. However, unless children are told the difference between right and wrong, they will not be able to learn. Thus, emotional decision taken by parents affect their own children.

It is a good practice in general to logically think out the problem in hand and make decisions. However, not all decisions can be taken based on pure logic and no emotions. For example, building a dam has great economic benefits, allows for the generation of hydroelectric power and benefits the society in general. So logically it is a very good decision to build a dam. However it often leads to deforestation, changes the course of rivers, loss of habitat and many times causes floods. So without an emotional thought, choosing a potential site for building a dam could be a catastrophe.

Hence a good decision maker is not the one who makes decisions based on pure logic but one who gives both, logical and emotional thought in making a decision.