Issue Topic

Claim: Restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the food they serve.

Reason: This knowledge will help diners make healthy choices and reduce their risk of diet-related health problems.

It is noticeable that the attention to the food averts to its healthy instead of keep pursuing creamy, delicious, and oily. While many people started paying attention to the risk of food, the danger of becoming illness doesn’t depend on its nutrition. Therefore, the reason given by the author is kind, but the claim delivered from the reason is far away from convincing. Despite the care of food risk and healthy issue related to diners, the commercial will tout their products nutritious and well-being which attribute to its economic impetus. The care to the customers to eat healthier comes from mark their ingredients and risk it containing instead the opposite. By doing this, customers can clearly understand what risk included when they enjoying a meal.

Without doubt, we are living in an era full of risk, from the air, soil, water, to food, every factor can be detrimental to our health. For example, cold coca-cola become popular and unavoidable soda choice no matter in summer or winner, but the high percentage of sugar is a critical reason that leads to obese and diabetes. Although its high sugar ingredients and caffeine are the resources that provide a happy moment for drinking it, the high health risk never mentioned on its red, passion bottle. Instead, people tend to drink it more when they feel hot, cheerful, sad, and sorrow. The commercial of the coca-cola and its bottle always marked by its effect of killing boredom, bringing cool moment, and its happiness atmosphere. The ingredients are CO2, and sugar, and syrup which mostly are daily elements of our foods. Thus, marking nutrition of the product cannot help the public to judge, conversely, it misleads the public to eat more.

Listing nutrition of the product could be a way for the company to avoid their responsibilities when their food harm to customers. As a producer, the restaurant knows much more clearly than customers about their recipe and secretes in it. Take a fried potato, such as, potato and oil are full of calories, which is good to generate energy for the human body. However, fried potato also contains very high additives spices which harmful to the human body. If the company only display nutrition information to customers. They can easily disguise customers that they are selling nothing but healthy and great food. The high calories, fatty, but low protein lead to a series of health risk, which only can be customers’ responsibility. The outcome can be quite opposite to the author’s kind intention.

Therefore, to lower the food risk, the restaurant should inform the customers not only their foods’ nutrition, more importantly, but they should also warn the customers the risk their food has.