It is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public

I am agree with assertion that it is often necessary, even desirable, for the political leaders to withhold information from the public because of three reasons.

To begin, it is not forthcoming of political leaders that serve the greatest purpose of the public--even some time forthcoming can cause greater loss than benefit. Leaders need to keep some secret for the bigger purpose--for instance, in case of the government plan about the capturing international terrorist group or drag trafficking group it obvious that leaders should keep these information secret from the public. If it happens that, a leader is forthcoming and divulge all the information about the mission about terrorist group or drag trafficking group it will lead to failure not success for the nation. In case of the greater good for the public, it is desirable that where needed to withhold information from the public a prudent leader must do it.

Furthermore, it is also expected from a responsible leader withhold information from the public in the time of emergency and war--when people have nothing to do except create more problem than solving. For instance, in war a leader must withhold information from the public because success come from plan that the enemy little aware about. If a leader divulge information for the sake of public, it will reach enemy camp without doubt. That is the case where it is desirable a leader must withhold sensitive information from the public for the sake of country and greater good for its people.

Situation that can make public hesitant and create agitation, a responsible leader must withhold information from the public because of the sake of the public. Like, sudden malfunctioning of the security system, that are meant to protect the country from the possible enemy--forthcoming in this issue only elicit the weakness of the country and the imprudent decision of the leader. Public can do nothing except making information dissipated to the enemy and to the world, better if a leader take necessary steps to solve the malfunctioning of security system within short time it will serve better. For the greater good and obviously for the need of the country a leader must withhold information.

In sum, as long as withholding information for the sake of the country it is expected even desirable but when a leader withhold information for the sake of his own benefit–there is a possibility that leader trying to get benefited from the sacrificing public interest. In democracy, it is obvious public have right to know information about the activity of the leader–there runs subtle risk of autonomous decision making from the leader. However, in the case of prudent leader and bigger purpose of the country all those risks fell shortcoming.