It is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public.

Certain information is highly critical and its revelation to the public could pose risk to the national integrity and sovereignty. It is therefore, I agree with the claim that political leaders should withhold such information from the public. However, on the other hand, it is the right of people to know about each and every governmental activity and so, the information, the revelation of which do not pose any risk to the nation and its people, should be revealed for the following reasons.

Certain governmental information is highly critical and the disclosure of such information to the public could be risky and pose a great threat to the public interest. For instance, the governmental strategy to tackle with the terrorists, if gets public, will help terrorists become aware of the governmental policy and adopt some countermeasure to escape from arrest and punishments. The same terrorists after being able to escape could cause harm to the public and nation by blasting and kidnapping people or commandeering airbus. It is therefore highly crucial to keep such information clandestine within the government.

Similarly, sharing of personal information of political leaders could malign their reputation and even destroy their political career. For instance, despite having high political prowess, public disclosure of Bill Clinton sex scandal has not only defamed him but also ended his political career. Further, Richard Nixon’s Watergate scandal badly spoiled his reputation due to which he has to end his political career. The above examples illustrates why public disclosure of personal information of political leaders is disadvantageous to both the nation and to themselves.

Similarly, revelation of information which can cause chaos in the nation is equally disadvantageous. Public disclosure of such information could create a situation of wild confusion in the nation and can also leads to the destruction. For instance, the revelation of antipathy and hostility of one of the religious leader upon another religion has engendered Hindu-Muslim war in India. This war lasted for several weeks and took the lives of hundreds of innocent people with the destructions huge sum of national property. Thus, it is not beneficial to reveal all the information to the public.

Aside from abovementioned provisos, it is required for the political leader to disclose all the information to the public which do not pose any risk to the public and the nation as a whole. Revelation of political activities of the political leader would help make insightful decision on the efficacies of these leaders. Similarly, revelation of the information of the political leaders in front of the public would help to judge them and their works in favor of the nation and public interests. This would ultimately help people choose the better leader in the future for the development of the nation.

In conclusion, the question whether to disclose political information to the public depends upon the nature of the information and the gravity of the consequence the information holds. If the revelation of such information do pose some risk on the life of people and the integrity of the nation, it is better not to disclose such information. And if the revelation of information is in the favor of the nation and its people, it is always beneficial to disclose such information.