It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves,

I strongly disapprove that it is through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. As far as I concerned, only the person oneself can define his or her identification.

With the dominance of social media controlling our social life in this modern world, it is highly that teenagers will easily affect by what others think about he or she. For example, Facebook allows people to share their own opinions towards anything in the public platform. Hence, if one has complaint about the specific person , it might be possible for him to share his opinion online without revealing his true identity. Consequently, people might have a bias toward this person. Progressively, the bias toward the guy exists everywhere, which might influence the way this person look at himself if this guy discover the bias with which others always look at him.

However, life is short and precious. What’s more it is irreversible. Many people now don’t care how other think themselves. Instead, they are confident and not afraid of being authentic. For example, some males may be somewhat feminine in his behavior. Thus, they might be ridiculed by others because of the stereotype that dominates the mainstream society. However, they don’t care what others judge them because they know only being authentic to themselves can their life become more fulfilling.

Additionally, only the person oneself can determine how to live an enjoyable life and his own future, as well as his own values. For example, you have the right to decide which person he would like to get acquainted with. Hence, if somebody doesn’t share the same value with you, it is totally fine for you to keep distance with him so that you won’t be affect by how he look at you. Consequently, identification is not necessarily decided by others. The right for defining ourselves is held in our hand.

All in all, our identification is not related to others, it should be decided by our own. Only ourselves can define our roles in society and take control of our own fate.