Is Justice more important in a society than compassion?

Compassion is the ability to sympathize and to be kind with the other person’s difficulties and problems whereas justice is condign punishment to the culprit for the crime he has done or the just and fair treatment to the victim for the discriminatory or unjust behavior he is enduring. These two are very different in the approaches as the former one focuses on being helpful or kind to the victim and does not inspire action whereas justice instigates us to stand for the immoral behavior and seeks equity. The importance of one over another depends on the severity of situations.

Firstly, Justice is always preferable over compassion whenever there is crime involving murder, kidnapping or the financial scam etc. This is necessary because people can sympathize for your loss but they can be satisfied only when they get the just and fair treatment for their loss. To illustrate this point for example- In any financial scam, the person will fight until he gets the money that is embezzled and the well deserved punishment to the culprit.

Secondly, Justice inspires us to take action against the immoral and depraved behavior that is prevailing in the society. While compassion teaches to understand the misfortune and difficulties of other, justice foments us to stand and fight for moral rights and equal treatment. For example- Many people all across the world concerned with the slavery, but it is the fight to get equal treatment that leads to the abolition of slavery.

Thirdly, justice to the victim also helps in curbing the crimes and dissuades people from undertaking the unethical and wrongful act. For example – In Delhi rape case, the anguish of the large number of people to get justice resulted in the speedy decision by the court to hang the culprits and the passing of the juvenile justice amendment bill to prevent such fatal assaults in the future.

Thus, justice is important than compassion whenever there is any immoral, unethical behavior and to keep a check on them. However in certain trivial cases, one must understand the situation of the other persons. For example- a kid may steal a food packet from a shop due to hunger, in this case we should be compassionate towards him and understand why he did it, rather than taking him to the police station.