Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Most of the decisions are based on experience and learning, we tried to correlate past events with the present to get the best result in any situation. The prompt suggests that knowledge of past events can not help us to make important decisions today. In my opinion, I do not agree with the recommendation because of the following reasons.

To begin with, humans always learn from experience and tried to avoid the mistake done in the past. Because as human beings we can not foresee the consequences of the action taken. However, we learned to make the decision based on the previous experience to eschew known error. For instance, during election time, people give their votes based on the performance of the political party in their last term. Consequently, if peoples feel that the current ruling party isn't meeting the people's demands then they may give their vote to other promising parties. Hence, most of the political campaign shows their previous years achievements to seek public attention. The public can not decide based on their present promises, because any party can make gigantic promises but few can fulfill it. The above example demonstrates that it is necessary to know about past performance and experience to decide the present vote. Thus, It's feasible to say that our knowledge about the previous experience helps us in deciding today's valuable decisions.

Furthermore, it's best to analyze the situation before making the important decisions, hence experience served as a perfect data set because it is the only known thing. When we do a critical analysis of the given scenario, we encounter the future shortcomings as well as already happened mistakes. Past left the major effects on anyone's mind, whether it's good or bad both remain in the mind of people. For example, one company wants to hire a person in the CEO position. It is a critical thing for any company to handover the business decision on one person's hand. Consequently, the company takes the interview of the applied candidate and sort the best-fit according to their response. At the same time, the company scrutinizes the past behavior and performance of the sorted candidate before assigning the post. Consequently, if any candidate excelled during the interview but was involved in corruption or any other conspiracy in his last company then he will get rejected. On the contrary, if the person showed extraordinary performance during his last years and has a good name in the market then he has more chances to get selected for the CEO post. The above example illustrates that knowing the past helps best in present to take the crucial decisions.

Some may argue that what happened in the past stayed in the past and have no effects on the present. For example, one company wants to expand its business in a new country. Consequently, the norms and ethics of the new market are different from the last market and the company can not adopt its past strategy in the new market. However, certain characteristics of the human remain the same at any place, which company can use in the new market. Hence, still, we can use several past experiences in the present decision-making process.

All things considering, we can say that in the decision-making process previous experience and knowledge play an important role. We can eliminate some of the negative outcomes using our experience.