Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

The author claims that knowing about the past cannot help in making important decisions today. Since, human behaviour, natural patterns and underlying principles of life don’t differ much over time, location and scenarios in question; knowledge about the past is indeed helpful in making behaviour well-informed decisions today.

Human psychology and behaviour remains same regardless of time, at least after the evolution into ‘homo sapiens’. The virtues and the vice that had plagued the society in the past are same even today. Knowing about the nature and brutalities of war-crimes of the two world wars helped United Nations formulate the articles of Geneva Convention. Even the formation and functioning principles of United Nations were based on the knowledge of the past diplomatic mistakes that led to the wars. Moreover, psychologists have proposed the idea of intuitive decision making skills that humans develop based on their experience and knowledge of facing similar situations over and over again. For example, an experienced fire fighter leading a team in a rescue operation, immediately ask his crew to leave a burning house and within seconds the whole burning structure falls apart. It was the knowledge of his past experiences that helped him to take sub-conscious yet a smart decision in a jiffy.

The claim can further be refuted by the fact that nature invariably behaves in a same way. For example, the threat of the climate change that humans face today appears very similar to that of ‘Ice Age’. Scientists have found intriguing similarities between the patterns of increasing carbon dioxide today and the years preceding the Ice Age. Knowledge about the reasons and consequences of ice age can therefore help in taking important steps in curbing and mitigating the effects of climate change. Similarly, learning from the detrimental effects of industrialization on the environment has helped human civilization to take timely and crucial steps in adopting green technology, bio-fuels, carbon dioxide sequestration techniques, etc.

Admittedly, the human world today is far more complex than it was few centuries or even decades before. Every aspect of human life is in a continuous state of evolution whether trade, science, politics, military war-fares, family relations, etc. Therefore, it is valid to ask about the extent to which past knowledge can be useful in taking important decisions today. For example, knowledge about ‘barter’ system of trade cannot help businessmen to take decisions about investing in the stock market today. This is because every knowledge about a past event or concept cannot be directly relevant and related to a given scenario. To avail from a given past knowledge, one must be competent enough to decipher its underlying lessons and establish a connection to a present situation. And while scenarios evolve, the fundamental governing laws remain uniform with time. Therefore, considering the same example of ‘barter’ system, since nature of the trade is unchanging, countries can still learn from it that how trade is always mutual and decide to make important trade deals.

In conclusion, while scenarios have evolved with time and hence the world today has become increasingly complicated, the laws governing those scenarios, human behaviour and natural patterns remain homogenous over the time. Therefore, knowing about the past events does help in making important decisions today though they must be adapted to meet the need of the situation.