Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Fool me once shame on you; fool me twice shame on me. While some may argue that it is better to leave the past behind you, the past never leaves us. The old saying exhorts individuals to learn from past mistakes. It is clear that knowledge of our past can positively influence the choices we make today.

To begin, every individual is a sum of their past failures and successes. Through consideration of the past we can infer things that we did right and where we went wrong. Doing this enables us to repeat past successes and avoid mistakes that lead to different failures. For example, the famous and talented actor Nicolas Cage was at a point one of the highest paid actors in the movie industry. Cage was a wealthy man who eventually became bankrupt and insolvent because of mismanagement of his opulent resources. He could no longer pay his debts because he wasn’t landing big movie roles with fat paychecks. But through extreme hard-work he finally paid of his debts after a number of years. “ Debt free but not without learning a lot lessons ” as he stated during a live interview. Consequently, it is certain that his statement and hard learned life lessons will fill his many of family and friends with confidence in him managing his wealth wisely. The above example illustrates that we become better individuals when we learn from our past mistakes. The lessons learned influence us to make wiser decisions.

Further, knowledge of past history can serve to provide ample support to assist in making significant decisions. Perhaps the reason why many leaders today both at the national and global stage fail today could be because they ignored historical leaders or even leaders that are as close as their predecessors. Not only can current leaders learn from failures of past leaders, they could learn how historical figures solved problems in their time and use that knowledge to help solve their problems today. For instance, through history we learn that war should always be the last option on the table as it always leads to loss lives and properties. Consider the first world war, which could have been obviated through all out diplomacy. Millions of men, women and children died across a lot of countries. Every nation involved in the war suffered catastrophic losses and there really was no winner. We see that this sad history has influenced a lot leaders in the world today, they are concious in making desicions that do not lead to fightihg between nations and this in turn protects the lives of their citizens

Of course some might contend that staying in the past or holding on to the past only weigh us down and eventually serve as impediments to our progress as individuals. I believe this view point is narrow and not well thought through. While i agree that we shouldn’t hold to the negative things in our past as doing so can harm us emotionally. We should always learn for this negative things. How about successess ? Should we also neglect them ?. We must not, because they make good timestamps and remembering make us confident and do postive things we did before. The past should never be an barricade progress, rather, we must choose to let it propel us ever forward by learing fromt it.