"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

The author concludes that installing high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg is the effective way to combat crime and by reducing crime in this way, the declining neighborhoods in their city can be revitalize. To support the conclusion, he cites various evidences. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. Hence, in order to make the argument more sound, the author needs to cite the following specific evidences.

First of all, the writer presumes that the structure of both the cities Belleville and Amburg are same. It is possible that both the cities have totally different structure. If both the cities are made of different structure, consequently the policy which works well in the city of Belleville effectively doesn't have intended result in the city of Amburg. Hence, installing high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg may not combat crime as it has done in the city of Belleville. If this was the case, then the author's assumption considerably weakens.

Second of all, the author assumes that the rate of vandalism remains constant in the city of Amburg. Since the police just begun patrols on bicycles in its business district, it is possible that the vandalism mainly happens in the residential area. If this was the case, instead of installing high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, police may focus on the main area where vandalism occurs most.

Third of all, the author presumes that the electricity availability in the city of Amburg is similar to the city of Belleville. However, it is possible that the city in Amburg has very few amount of electricity which cannot affort for high-intensity lighting. If this was the case, then the author's assumption doesn't hold water and which significantly weaken the argument.

In sum, in order to make the argument more sound, the author needs to cite the above three specific evidences. Withouth these specific evidences, I can not agree with the writer's assertion.