“Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places”

In theoretically, it is better to consider various circumstances, times, and places into one law. It is even the original intention of enacting the law for people. Laws use as a instrument to restraint people’s behavior that tells people what to do and what to not to do. If a law can contain various circumstances, times and places, it should be more convenience to enact and more perfect to implement.

However, in practically, there is not a law that should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places because people’s rationality and people’s ability of prediction for future and unknown is limited. It will produce unpleasant reasons if people have to contain many kinds of circumstances, times and places. The first unpleasant reason is that people have to deal with one thing using one rule instead of legislation. That would produce different kinds of legal cases while a complete legal system will never bring out, which should never utilize controlling people’s behavior perfect and people who brakes the law would find a way out. The second unpleasant reason is that more flexible law would forfeit its seriousness and authority. Meanwhile, it changes too fast to comply for people. In the ancient time in China, monarch means law and what he said will be a law for people. However, the flexible law, that looks much more like randomly law, is not what the federal society should have and expect.

To take account of various circumstances, times and places, there are some reasons to deal with. Firstly, what the law maintains and provokes is the social’s last value, such as freedom, democracy, equitable, justice and people’s life, property, human dignity doesn’t violent, that never change. So, maintaining these social basic values should be more and more stable. Secondly, how to make a law and how to enact a law must be equally, justice and open, of course, there procedures should be stable, too. If not, it will give some unlawful people to chit with laws even though the law is the best one. Thirdly, under the legal principles, people could utilize the Supreme Court of Justice or relevant jurisprudence to flexible deal with some special circumstances in reality. Fourth, the law is not panacea. People should give some spaces and chances to medias, public opinion, traditional convention and civil social organizations. These organizations can help social self-management and self-correction.