Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that laws should be flexible according to different circumstances. Here, the flexibility can be interpreted in two ways: First, it can be interpreted as that law makers should keep the law updated so it can be in accordance with social progress; alternatively, it could entails that when implementing a law, situations should be taken into account so that a certain type of criminal will be sentenced different punishment according to how. While I take the first claim as justifiable, the second interpretation certainly does not stand.

To begin with, one reason that makes the first interpretion that laws should be updated hold true is that only such can laws reflect the changing need of the society. As the society never cease progressing, it is unlikely that every law applicable to decades ago reflect the societal need for today. An example aptly illustrate this point is the change in the environment law in China. Thirty years ago, there was only a general description of company's duty and responsibility in ensuring their manufacturing would not cause serious environmental pollution. However, as the environment concerns are becoming ever-increasing over years, the new version of the environmental law included a specification of, for example, the limit of gas emission of each type of product, the way that the factory deal with the drainage and chemical disposals and so forth. The change reflects an elevating consciousness of the whole country to deal with the environmental problems, and it indeed helped alleviate the problem to some degree.

Another reason that laws should be modified depending on the situations is that, laws need to reflect the social value at a certain time, which keeps evolving rapidly over time. A century ago, one can hardly imaging homosexual marriage being legal. However, as people's awareness of respecting others' right of pursuing love become elevated, this special form of marriage becomes no strange to people anymore. As such, more an more nations have published the law to admit the legal status of homosexual marriage.

Nevertheless, once a law is established, it should not be hanging loose or taking into account specific situations. The primary for that is ensuring the authority of the legal system, only by which laws will fulfill their very purpose of constraining people's behaviour. Imagine, if too much flexibility is left for the judge, his discretionary judgement may be biased by many factors, such as how he/she personally like the criminal, or even worse, if he recieved bribe from the family of the criminal and so on.

To conclude, when formulating a law, it is necessary to consider the social needs and social values at a particular time in a particular society. However, no flexibility should be left in the implementation of the law.