The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Based on the evidence that Parson City spent a larger proportion of tax revenue on public schools than Blue City and the fact that the financial source of these schools are mainly city funding, the author asserts that residents in Parson city value public school education more than residents in Blue City. After careful inspection of the argument I find that some information is missing in justifying the author's claim.

To begin with, a critical point the author makes in the argument in support for his claim is that the population in the two cities are about the same. An unstated induction from thisfact is that there are approximately same number of students attending public schools. However, this is not necessarily the case. It is well likely that the Blue City is an aged society where the elder citizens consists the main population. In this case, not as many public schools would be needed in Blue City as in Parson City, as there are simply not as many people attending the school. Without any evidence showing that the need for public school resources are on the same level in two cities, the author's claim remians dubious.

Even the evidence for the above-mentioned points are justified, the reasoning still remains doubtful, as the author did not provide any evidence indicating the current level of development of public schools in the two cities. Another possibly reason that Parson City invest a larger amount of butget on developing public schools is that there was a shortage of educational resources previously in the city. In contrast, the public education system might already been well established an grown mature in Blue City, which means that it does not need much input to improving it anymore. In this case, we could not infer that Parson City are placing more value on the betterment of public school, as the larget spent only reflect a more urgent need. Therefore, to make the argument more convincing, the author need to provide evidence on the current development of public schools in the two cities.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide enough information on the need for inputting money to public schools in two cities, such as how many citizens fall in schooling age in each city or how the public schools have been developed so far. Without these information, the claim that residents in Parson City are regarding the public school education as more valueble than people in Blue City cannot be justified.