The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper."In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government c

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions reagarding the value each city in Trillura region gives to education. Taken as whole, this unproven assumptions, if not hold true, seriously undermine the argument validity.

First of all, the argument does not provide any further justifcation of the causality relationship between the proportion of budget each city allocates to public schools and the level of priority they give to education. For one, just comparing the proportion of revenues driven to public schools in one year is not enough to assume that there is causality among this two facts. For example, Parson City may be a history of few expendings with public school and just recently, after population complains about the quality of the city-run public schools there the major dicided to allocate an annusual amount of budget for education. In fact, without an comprehensive statistical research of the budgetary allocation patterns in the cities of Trillura region it would be possible to make plausible assumptions regarding this causality relationship.

The argument also leaves some unanswered questions that makes the argument flawed. For example, no information was provided about the number of students attending schools in Parson City and in Blue City, but it is only stated that the cities have the same population. However, Parson City may have more young people than Blue City, what makes the fact that Parson City expended in education twice as much per year than Blue City. Also, even if both cities have the same student's population, they can differ in age distribution, what makes the demand for budget to education different among the cities. For example, Parson City may have younger students than Blue City, what would make the demand for new and safe facilities higher in Parson City. Thus, student's population stistics should be provided and carefully analyzed to make the argument reliable.

Finally, the argument assumes without warrant that the proportional budget allocated to education really impacts the quality of education. However, no further information is provided on how the increase in budget allocation has made education quality higher. This assumption, although intuitive, should be supported by research results that clear makes this connection. For example, an extra budget could be badly applied in education and afterwards no improvement in quality would be experienced.

To sum up, because the argument holds its basis in many unproven assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that Parson City residents realy give more value to education than Blue City residents do just because the proportional budget allocated to education in Parson City is higher than in Blue City.