The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the preceding argument, the author contends that residents of Parson city value public education more than residents of Blue City do. As a background for such a conclusion the arguer points at twice bigger budget allocated for education in Parson compared to that in Blue City. Though more significant budget may indicate more focus, validation of such a conclusion demands additional examination of provided information and require some new data.

First, the author presumes that the more budget spent at something, the higher the priority of that thing is. But bigger budget may indicate bigger need. For example, population of one city consist of empty-nest type of families predominantly and, thus, does not need that much budget for education; while another one displays quite opposite population compositions and, consequently, require different approach. The argument would benefit if the author provides total number of children that live in each city. That would help to find out budget spent per student and, thus, deduce based on comparable numbers. If average expenditure per public school student is higher, then some schools indeed get more funding compared to others; but if numbers are approximately equal means that one city has more children to teach than the other. Moreover, bigger budget may be interpreted as the very opposite of prioritization if proved that during previous years education was underfunded. The simplest way to find out if that is the case is, first, check average expense per public school student over last 5-10 years – any picks will be visible immediately.

Second, the arguer states that it is city resident’s choice to prioritize education. Typically, city residents, delegate their right for budget distribution to chosen government rather than participate in that kind of decisions. Unless, of course, actions taken by government require residents’ interference. Only in case when we for sure know that city residents let the government to know their will (via referendum, open letters, petitions, demonstration and so on) and their will was satisfied, we can assert that it is city resident who put greater value on education. Unless, that is proved, more probable owner of the decision is government rather than people.

In conclusion, the argument is based on several flawed assumptions and, thus, fails to make a convincing case that public schools of Parsons have unwarranted surplus in budget funding. For the above mentioned reasons the arguments cannot be deemed persuasive.