The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument avers concerns regarding presumable decline of birthrate and suggests cutting of funds initially accrued for education and recreational facilities for kids in favor of that of adults. Though the goal of such a recommendation is perceived as benevolent at first glance, further scrutiny of the argumentations reveals several unsubstantiated assumptions which engender provoke unfair relocation of funds.

To begin with, the author assumed that migration does not affect school population and majority of school students was born in the city. That is not necessarily true. If migration is significant in the city, birthrate itself does not indicate how many students will attend schools. Thus, the argument will benefit from providing numbers that demonstrate composition of school population in terms of “was born in the city – arrived after birth”. These numbers should be studied at least for a recent decade to eliminate cases of one-time incidents.

In the event of migration influence is insignificant, one should obtain more information of city’s birthrate over extended time to make a valid forecast of fluctuation of birthrate in upcoming decade. As you can see in preceeding argument, the author pinpoints drastic decrease of birthrate of last year only, which is not enough to make any prognoses. In fact, one-year drop might be result of distributional distortion. For example, the year before birthrate experienced significant increase (around 25%), the year in question it demonstrated decrease of 50% but in subsequent year it jumped up high again by approximately 25% again, thus, the average of 3 years will remain more or less stable and no any noticeable changes in student’s population will occur.

Moreover, even if additional evidence will confirm that birthrate is on a declining trend and migration won’t compensate it, relocation of budget fund from education and children’s recreational facilities is impetuous. Scrupulous examination of decline should be conducted to make clear prediction on enrollments for each year and understand whether decline will be truly dramatic. Decline is proven to be dramatic for 1 year only and might not take place in other years of preceding decade at all.

In conclusion, the author recommends measures hastily, relies on several flawed assumptions and incomplete data. If arguer proves that school enrollments are directly correlated with city’s birthrate and is the decline is long-term, then such a recommendation can be taken into consideration.