The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author made a conclusion that there will be enough money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults if certain actions are taken. However, after proper scrutiny, the conclusion is flawed, and more evidence is needed to make the conclusion strong.

First, the author made the statement that last year birth-rate was only one-half that of five years ago. The author failed to let us know the source of this information and how reliable the source is. If the information is from a credible source, one may tend to believe that the birth-rate is reducing. If this is not provided, the conclusion remains flawed.

Secondly, even if the birth-rate is reducing, more evidence is need to know if the birthrate is affecting the population. It’s possible that people might have gone to other cities to give birth because of health benefits and come back to their own city after giving birth. This way birth-rate reduced but population did not. Furthermore, evidence that all the students of the public school are from the city is also needed, It is also possible that children from other cities are students in the schools. Without enough evidence on the population and information of the students, like where they are from, the conclusion remains flawed.

Lastly, the author wants the budget for the school be reduced but the author has failed to provide evidence about the current budget if it is enough before it is now reduced.In conclusion, without these evidences provided, we authors is flawed.