The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus, the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to passage, there will be decreasing of number of students enrolled in the public schools due to declining of birthrate in city of Calatrava. Thus, budget authorities’ recommendation is that reducing the funds for education and other things which are related with students. Those are athletic playing field and recreational facilities. Additionally, they assume that if they reduce the funds to education then, transfer the that money to the activities which are used primarily by adults would increase adult population. There is a strictly contradictive point in this assumption. If no more students which mean no more young people in the city, how could be increased the adult population even if conditions are extraordinary perfect?

First of all, the letter is telling that the birthrate is declining and it compares birthrate with five years ago. There is no last year’s data. It might change between five years ago and last year or this year. It must be explained then could be evaluated the results.

Secondly, young population is the hope to go next generations. In the letter, the committee seems like happy about decreasing the number of young people, because, they would use the money which remains from the students for the adults. It is very weird approach. They should motivate the adults to have a child. They should serve some legislations or opportunities or benefits for adult to encourage them to have a child. This would be the best way to increase adult population in future.

I need to admit that there is another way to increase the adult population without having children. It is immigration. However, It is unusual situation that people would want to immigrate to city of Calatrava in sake of wonderful adult activities. It does not sound reasonable, if immigration would happen for only this reason, what is the ratio of it, how many people would do it? Again, the best way is that encouraging adult to have children.

As a conclusion, there is very weird assumption in the passage. It is not reasonable in every way. If they want to increase the number of people, they must focus on increasing birthrate. This is the healthiest way to do it.