Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the above argument tries to establish the woven baskets have not only been made by Palean folks. The underlying basis the of the argument is that these woven baskets have also been found in Lithos which is a village across the big, deep river from Palea and the rive could not be crossed by man power.

The first challenging point is that there is not such a satisfactory prove to show that the archaeological researches are enough to find the boats. Moreover, the author has not given any information about the history of these villages. There might be destructive events such as wars, natural catastrophe, decimation and so, the boats that could be used to cross the river by Palean folks, may be gone away by such events. Furthermore, there is not ant knowledge about the materials of the boats. They could be disappeared on their own so far. For all these reasons, it may not be concluded that the boats were not existed or used.

The second point is that it is that it is not mandatory that the baskets were crossed the river via human. Such baskets were made up the material which can float. They could be in activities such as trade, barter or communication etc. So, they could have been found in Lithos.

Finally, it has been stated in the passage, the river is deep and broad, but there are very holes about the river. The author has not mentioned about the age of the river. The river might not be existed in Palea and Lithos time. So, Palean folks could have carried the baskets to Lithos region by walking. The other possibility is that, the river might be exist but it might be shallow and narrow in Palea’s and Lithos’ periods, so, the people could have swum and transferred the basket to other side of the river. The river might have been enlarged and deepen with the time by way of environmental changes or natural disasters such as flood, increasing rain fall, earthquake.

As a conclusion, it cannot be exactly said that woven baskets were not uniquely Palean. All of them are possibilities those the archaeological researches are not sufficient; the baskets were not crossed by folks and the river was not exactly same as today. The author should have provided some proofs and data to establish this argument that woven baskets were not uniquely Palean.