Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Everyone has an idea about many topics. There are two sides around the one’s idea which are positive and negative. In the other words, it is agreement and contradiction for an idea. Although, someone is agreed in any topic with us sounds good, if someone is sharing same direction with us we generally feel more comfortable and more courageous in the case of defending that idea. However, it is not beneficial every time as it looks. Contradictions could show us different perspectives that we cannot see in first.

First of all, take a look at the famous and impressive scientist in the history. Generally, their mutual feature is being refused in their initial career. For example, Galileo who had an opinion which has defended that the world is rounded not the flat. He has been refused and excluded from many community, foremost from the church. What was the effect of that much of refusal? He has insisted on to prove his idea and studied more and more relentlessly. Finally, even he has not been witness that his idea was right but, in the long run his idea has been proved. It means that people could learn more from people who have placed in the opposite side of themselves.

We cannot assert the contrary about the disagreement could cause stress. It is totally true and might affect the learning but it is not always prevailing. Learning is relative thing which depends on people. Some can be affected by disagreement negatively, some cannot be. Stress creates the pressure to justify one’s opinion but I do not think so it would affect the learning that much. It may cause overwhelm but people are enough equipped to overcome this feeling then, pursue to learn more and more. Placing in same direction usually brings people to back not to forward. Evaluating different sights are very invaluable thing to get conclusion in an issue. For this reason, I am being in the fully opposite direction with the claim which is given.

As a conclusion, contradiction opens our eyes to other possibilities then, convey us to learn and research about the other sides of medallion.