The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to passage, a group of developer want to open a new jazz club in Monroe. Because existent jazz club is far away to Monroe, this sounds reasonable. The author is adding, jazz is one of the primary entertainment in Monroe and it is shown with some numbers such as the number of people attended jazz festival last summer and jazz fans spend around 1,000 dollars per year on jazz entertainment. With these numbers, it looks the jazz is very important and essential for people in Monroe. However, there are several points that need to be enlightened.

First of all, coming up with jazz festival in last summer, as everyone knows, festivals mean having fun in general. People join the festivals to meet new people and having good and high atmosphere. It does not mean that only fans attend the festivals. Of course, the majority of people in music festivals like that kind of music in this case which is jazz but it is not always true. There might be a lot of people who like to listen to music regardless jazz or rock or rap in the jazz festival. For this reason, number of people who attended jazz festival last summer cannot infer that the new jazz club would have majority of those people who were in jazz festival. Another point is that there is not any document or record which shows the people in jazz festival were from Monroe. There might be many people in the festival from other cities or states. Regarding this, if there were many people from other cities in the festival they would not go to new jazz club in Monroe. This hole must be filled up with evidences.

Secondly, high-rated radio program absolutely does not reflect that the city Monroe is the big fan of Jazz music. Broadcasts are generally national. It means that all people from CA to NY could reach this radio broadcast. There is no any evidence to support that majority of people who listen to radio from city Monroe.

Thirdly, it is mentioned that the typical jazz fan spends close to 1,000 dollars per year on jazz entertainment in nationwide analyses.

1,000 dollars is really much amount for spending on a music activity. It may be defended that jazz is popular music kind in the USA not in only Monroe because the study has conducted as a nationwide. It is not shown how many people who spend around 1,000 dollars for jazz in Monroe. This point also remained baseless.

As a conclusion, there are many unproven materials which may refer the new jazz club would be in demand much. Those are must be explained and evaluated in more realistic evidences and further analyses.