The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the passage in above, the new vice president of Sartorian is thinking that if they start to produce alpaca overcoat again, their revenue will increase. He or she attributed this assumption to some reasons. However, there are some unwarranted points behind that reasons.

First of all, they assume that this alpaca coat should be sold well because they did not produce it for five years and their major competitor company has finished the production of alpaca coat. Thus, they thought there will be big customer demand. There is no any conducted pool to measure people’s demand in order to buy this coat. Do people still want to wear this coat? This question should be answered. The fashion is changing year by year and five years is a quite long time to be changed the fashion. There might be showed up the new brands that compensate the lacking of alpaca coat. Additionally, these new brands might be more competitive than the old one. Initially customer’ demand must be tested whether they want to wear alpaca coat or not.

Secondly, as everyone knows that alpaca is an animal and people use this animal’s fur mercilessly. Over the five years, people might have sensitivity to animal right and be more willing to protect animals from be slaughtered. For this reason, people might protest the products which are made from animals. Company authorities must take in consideration to this possibility and do research about it.

Thirdly, the new vice president of Sartorian has mentioned in the letter about increase of price of most types of clothing in past five years. He or she assumed that the increase will directly be reflected to alpaca wool coat. Everyone must admit that the real animal furs are enormously expensive. Even if people could barely afford its price, with the general price rise, it would put people in difficult situation financially so, the might not prefer to buy alpaca wool made coat. By the way, if price of most kinds of clothing has increased, it might be a signal the industry and economy are not going well. Thus, the purchasing power might decline. As a result of that, people could not buy the extra non-essential products. These possibilities must be analyzed then, should be taken an action.

As a conclusion, the letter has not been supported with the full warranted assumption. It is needed to be showed further evidences. Foremost, it must be understood that alpaca coats are looking forward to be seeing in the shops’ shelves?