The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Heroes and role models can surely represent its society. It reflects the accepted norms by seeing in these role models’ traits. A society’s role models must be praised by the member of the society. They should be relied on the society’s conventions. In this aspect, we can understand the character of a society is to analyze the its heroes and its role models.

For example, the lionized characters in the USA are generally related with either freedom or science. Now look at the US society, they are called majorly their freedom in any topic or field such as the LGBTQ community is legalized firstly in the US lands or freedom of religion and the attitude against to religion discrimination has been accepted in the US lands. Another point is related with the US is indubitably science. The USA is the locomotive country in the world in terms of science. It cannot be coincidence that majority of scientists has done their work or inventions in that country even they are not the citizen of the US. For example, erudite physicist Albert Einstein has attracted the attention about his relativity theory primarily in Princeton University in the US. He was German but he cannot live as a German. Even, he has attended the Manhattan Project against to Germany. For this reason, in my opinion, he is one of the best scientists who has been grown in the US lands and can be accepted the role model by the US society. There are still a lot of bright scientists who emulate to Einstein in the US. Albert Einstein is one of the important scientist who achieved the importance in the US lands. There are a variety of different examples in the US history. In summary, as it is in the US, a society can create their own heroes and role models according to their truths and morality.

However, the society consists of a diversity of classes. Each part has different expectations and different qualities. In short, it is not possible to gather all people in one roof. My argument could comprise a majority of society but not all. For example, everyone knows the inventor of telephone, Galileo. He may be a role model of Italian society but who knows the cultivation of grains firstly? I think, no one, I am included. We owe our daily diet to grains but we do not know its founder. He or she also might be a hero or role model to its society if it is known. In my point, selected heroes and role models might not be as it should be. For this reason, overshadowed people cannot be ignored by the history. To sum up, only looking to society’s heroes and role models is not the best way to realize the society’s structure. There is surely considerable amount of people who has not gained the fame and not known today but they are also important.

As a conclusion, the society includes all people and cannot understood by just several heroes and role models. However, I must admit that its contribution is appreciable.