Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Since the very beginning, the competition holds enormously significance in one’s life. Sometimes, it is essential to increase one’s motivation. Additionally, it provides to see ourselves’ position in the race then, eventually galvanizing us to reach to goals that we have determined for our lives. However, is competition a means to convey people to better positions? Does it affect only people positively?

First of all, competition is existing for everyone regardless age. For instance, a student, assume that student took an exam then saw oneself in lower success compared to student’s classmates. What would happen in this situation? Of course, he or she will feel the kind of pressure and lowly then, generating the ambition to show higher success than other students. However, the main point is appeared in this term. How much the quality of learning under the influence of strong competition? Could student learn what he or she should learn fully accurate and permanent? Most of students probably would prefer to not learn properly but memorize magnificently to show better success than their peers. They might seem to be digested the knowledge but they are partly learnt. It is surely not good learning style and it is sad to say that the competition causes this unfavorable conclusion.

Despite the first assumption, there is a possibility that it would happen totally in opposite direction. The students who are wise about the future and more mature than their peers would certainly think that the competition is the tool to carry themselves to better places, not to get themselves going for temporary and baseless success. This thought provides them to pursue their education and dreams in proper way of learning which is not memorizing. It would keep the quality of learning in appropriate manner.

As a conclusion, competition is sometimes useful to reach to high degrees but sometimes could limit the quality of learning at all levels of education. Competition should use as a tool of conveying people to better positions in every field and every age.