The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The vice president of Sartorian states that although we stopped producing one of our most popular products five years ago, it is a prudent decision to return to that production line due to a new wool supplier and appropriate situation of the market. This statement may seem tenable when give a cursory thought, but it engages in several logical fallacies, unsound reasoning and offers insufficient data.

First, the factory stopped its production about five years ago. This period is long enough for the market to undergo several drastic changes. For example, the tastes of the people are likely to have changed so much and they no longer have tendency for wool overcoats. The price of the wool may have risen so much, therefore throwing the assumption of high profit of the factory into question by imposing heavy costs and mearge profits. Another possibility is the change in climate, with warmer weather people usually show less predilection for warm clothes. These assumptions should be taken into account by the president of the factory.

Second, assuming that consumers are still in favor of these overcoats, how do we know that during past several years the company is still the first to offer this product? Due to high demands for this clothing, it is highly likely that other factories have preoccupied this niche of the market and satisfy the needs of the people by offering high-quality and fashionable overcoats. Thus, they have established their share of market and people do not risk to return to another new factory. This assumption, if true, renders the conclusion of the president void.

Third, the president claims that high demands and increment in the prices will lead to their higher profits. This assumption is raw, since higher price is due to more expensive materials. There is no guarantee that the factory will gain more profits than the past years, because economic instabilities may impose more costs of operation on the company. Moreover, whether the new fabric supplier provides satisfactory service and fabric is dubious.

In conclusion, the statements lack seriously in persuasiveness and cogency. The president should provide sufficient data regarding the market trend, people’s tastes, rivals, and production cost in order to make sound and logical conclusions.