We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

We all have different perspective to situations in life, our perspectives are parochial by the environment we grow up in and the people around us. I do not agree with the issue because we learn new things when we engage in conversation with the people whose views contradict our own also one will be able to properly justify the reason for the position one has taken in a situation.

Legitimately, having a conversation with the people whose view you share reduces the tendency of argument. For instance, an atheist engaged in conversation with another atheist, argument about the reason they are both atheists will not come forth. Off course, other arguments might surface between them, but not for being atheist. They both share the same view and they are not contradicting each other. Notwithstanding, they have no new things to learn from each other.

However, learning is everyday activity. One might be wrong about the position one is, because of ignorance or lack of enough information. People with contradicting view enlighten on the views we fail to understand, or we lack information about.

Also, apart from the fact that we get to learn from others, we also get to teach, impact knowledge from our own point of view. Additionally, having conversation with people whose view contradict yours, you will be able to properly justify the reason for the view you have taken and refute or accept the contradicting view. For instance, a man that beliefs the earth is flat, trying to convince another man (that beliefs the earth is spherical), the latter will be able to refute immediately and add his justification with evidences and proofs. To conclude, one will be able to justify one’s position from people whose views contradict ours the one and learn new things.