The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Mayor concluded that to improve Honeywell’s economy, Honeywell should take similar actions Ocean view took two years ago. Looking at this conclusion at first glance, it looks tenable. However, proper assessment of the memo shows that there are unstated assumptions which makes the conclusion flawed.

Firstly, the mayor assumed that the increment in tourism, tax revenue and new businesses opened at Ocean View was because of the newly built golf course and resort hotel. However, these development in ocean view might be as a result of other policies that were taken. Ocean view might now have safer security, which has encouraged entrepreneur to develop their businesses, also, new recreation site might be the reason in the increment of tourism not necessarily the golf course and resort. Therefore, the assumption that the increment in tourism, tax revenue and new businesses opened at ocean was because of the newly built golf course and resort hotel is unwarranted. Which makes the conclusion unjustifiable.

Secondly, the mayor assumed that the 30 percent increment in tax revenue is a large amount. Whereas the 30 percent increase might be little or negligible. For instance, if the initial revenue was $100, that means 30 percent increase is $130 which is a negligible increase in the revenue. Which makes the assumption unwarranted. The mayor must provide the precise information about the increment of ocean view. Also, it is possible that the geographical location of Honeywell might not bring more tourist to the town no matter what Honeywell does. For instance, Honeywell might have more rainfall that sunshine which will discourage tourists from coming to the town.

Conclusively, without the mayor providing enough evidences for these unwarranted assumptions, the conclusion of the mayor is flawed.