The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation by the committee planning a ten-year budget for Calatrava encourages more questions than answers. The recommendation is especially lacking in evidence to support its claims. Even with more evidence, the recommendation is likely to be weakened.

The foremost evidence needed to strengthen the argument is that the reason for a lower birthrate is not related to something else. The case may be that the population of adults in the city is declining. If this is the case, the people of Calatrava should look into the city`s issues as a whole rather than a lower birthrate. Is there a high crime rate, are the schools falling apart, is there a lack of jobs? If any of the aforementioned issues are evidentially true, it is enough reason for a lower number of adults and a lower number of children. Another highly probable reason that the birthrate is declining is the lack of adequate educational and athletic facilities.

A large piece of evidence missing from this recommendation is proof that the birthrate is not declining due to a poorly spent education budget. Adults are less likely to decide to raise children in a place with poor schooling. Therefore, the city should not be looking into increasing adult facilities, but rather, mending child-centered facilities. It is said that children are the future. If children are the future, their well-being and education is more important than a few more bars.

The final piece of evidence that is not provided is whether an increase of adult-centered locations will actually fix the issue of a lower birth rate. It seems as if by lessening the money spent on education in favor of adult facilities the main issue will not be met. Even if adults are out having fun at fancy restaurants or golfing and encourage more people to move to Calatrava, a poor school system will discourage more children and eventually more people will move away when they wish to start families.

To recapitulate, the committee should not adhere to the recommendation as presented. If they do so they will not only fail to properly fix the issue, but they will eventually lead people away from Calatrava once they realize there it is no place to raise a child.